We are very excited to announce the addition of Library permissions to DF Studio Enterprise clients. Library permissions are a simple set of powerful tools that control access to Projects, Collections, and folders. Managing access in your DF Studio Library adds fully adjustable levels of security to your assets.
Applying permissions locally to a Library item allows clients to designate which users can view, create, upload, download, share, edit, or write metadata in that location. Permissions may also be assigned globally to the entire DF Studio Library. DF Studio’s search engine has also been enhanced to handle the new permission settings, in order to ensure that each user’s search results are restricted to projects, folders, or assets that are viewable by the user.
To determine how your organization can use this valuable feature set to its advantage, we encourage you to discuss the utility of permissions with DF Studio Client Services. DF Studio will facilitate training and provide support to ensure that all updates are seamlessly incorporated into users’ workflows. Although the update is recommended, adopting Library permissions is not mandatory. Enterprise clients may continue using DF Studio in an open format without changing any settings.
2. Library Permissions
The following is the list of permissions that are available:
|No Access||Login is allowed, but no visibility of Library assets unless explicitly given permission.|
|View Only||Users may view Projects, Project Details, Metadata, Activities and Storage. They may collect images in the Bin, and can print contact sheets.|
|Image Management||Allows renaming Images, moving them into Setups within a Project, changing Storage status (Active / Cold).|
|Metadata||Allows viewing and editing details on Projects and metadata on images.|
|Editing||Allows creating Edits, setting select levels, modifying other users’ Edits.|
|File Access||Allows downloading original assets.|
|Sharing||Allows sending Messengers and creating Portfolios.|
|Create||Allows creating new folders, Projects, Collections, and uploading files.|
|Owner||Allows moving, deleting, and permission management on folders, Projects, Collections, in addition to all operations in the list above.|
|Contacts||Allows adding, removing, editing of contacts and groups.|
|Account Settings||Allows access to the “Account Admin Settings” and “Account Setup” sections of the Settings page.|
|Billing Information||Allows access to billing information in Billing Settings.|
|Asset API Access||Allows programmatic access outside of the DF Studio user interface.|
|Admin||Allows control over all operations in DF Studio.|
Library Permissions Features:
- Admins control all operations in DF Studio
- In addition to Admin controls, all Library content now has Owners. Owners can set permissions or delete content.
- Users are granted a base set of permissions from the “Users and Teams Settings” page.
“Teams” can be created for ease of managing a set of users.
- After initial base permissions, users and Teams are granted permissions to Projects, Collections and folders based on where they are in the Library.
- Permissions set on a folder are “inherited” by all the enclosed folders, Projects and Collections. However, specific customizations to permissions can also be made to override inheritance.
In order to maximize their application under the new permissions architecture, Collections have been enhanced with new concepts.
There are now three types of Collections: Private, Shared, and Custom.
- Private: A Collection can now be created privately, allowing a user to add any image they can view.
- Shared: Shared collections are visible to all users in the account. Other users will only be able to see the images they have view rights to.
- Custom: Custom permissions can be used by the owner of a Collection to make it visible to specific users and teams.
3. Other Enhancements
The Actions section of the right-hand navigation menu has been consolidated and is now consistent across Projects and Collections in the DF Studio Library. Find and Select remain in the menu, but several other items have been moved to more relevant areas.
Actions for Projects:
- Rename, Export as Text, Move to Setup, and Move to New Project actions have been moved to the multi-image Inspector: to use them, select multiple images by holding the control key and make sure the Image Inspector tab is highlighted.
- Metadata is now available in the Image Inspector and the Project Inspector.
- Add Assignment and Import from Bin appear in the Project Inspector.
- An image or group of images must be selected for the Delete Images action to appear in the Image Inspector.
Actions for Collections:
- Export as Text is available in the multi-image Inspector.
- Metadata is now available in the Image Inspector and the Library Inspector.
- Remove Images is in the Image Inspector and the Collection Inspector.
- Arrange is located in the Collections Inspector.
- Browser Verification emails now contains a clickable link that authenticates the new browser, eliminating the extra step of copying and pasting the code.
- Assignments now support messages longer than 1024 characters.
- The Dashboard layout has been updated to be more relevant to each user. It now features bookmarks and recently visited Projects.
- The navigation bar contains a new Collections button, which displays every Collection in the account, sorted by creation date and displayed according to each user’s permissions.
- Web Portfolios are now created by publishing Collections. To create a Web Portfolio, first create a Collection and then select with the “Create Web Portfolio” button, located in the Inspector. Use the Web Tab to view and modify Portfolios.
- Date pickers Project Details have been updated.
- In Advanced Search, a new text field has been added to search for folder names.
4. Bug Fixes
In addition to this enhanced set of permissions, there are many bug fixes and UI improvements in this release.
- Fixed a bug that prevented watermarking in Web Portfolios when the preference was checked.
- Fixed an unintended behavior where images in Multi-Messengers appeared unsorted. Images are now sorted by filename.
- Fixed an unintended behavior in Multi-Messengers that displayed the table of contents in unsorted order. Project names are now sorted alphanumerically.
- Fixed a bug where auto-warming was not being triggered when sending Live Messengers, which in turn was preventing the Messenger and notifications from being sent.
- Fixed a bug in the Messenger that displayed the wrong image when selecting in thumbnails view and switching to one-up view.
- Fixed a bug that left folders “orphaned” when moving folders containing subfolders.
- Fixed a redundancy in the Bin that showed an “Add to Bin” option in the Actions menu.
- Fixed a bug in the Project Details page that prevented key frames from being generated for Setups.
- Fixed a bug in the download process that produced subfolders in the downloaded folder when the project name, setups or details contained a slash.
- Fixed a bug in the Messenger tab where double-clicking a Multi-Messenger would transport the user to the first project without displaying the table of contents of the Messenger.
You can download the full release notes as a PDF below.